Welcome Back
Ramdin maintains place in West Indies squad

Mon 26 Sep 2011 - 10:09 || Welcome Back Wi-owner || Newest user is KrisDeviant || Number of Post 5624 || Site up Days 748

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]




Denesh Ramdin ... in West Indies squad for Antigua leg of home series against South Africa. - file
ST JOHN'S, Antigua (CMC):

Selectors have persisted with struggling wicketkeeper/batsman Denesh Ramdin in a 14-man squad announced for the Antigua leg of their limited overs series against South Africa starting tomorrow.

The 25-year-old was named yesterday in an otherwise predictable squad which will play two Twenty20 internationals and two one-day internationals at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium.

As expected, Chris Gayle will lead the squad which comprises the same players from the failed World Twenty20 Championship campaign, with only Jamaican Wavell Hinds overlooked.

Ramdin has come under heavy scrutiny in recent months for his wretched form with the bat. While his glovework remains solid, his batting has been dismal and has resulted in a run of low scores.

He has managed just 99 runs from his last eight innings in T20s and 125 runs from a similar number of ODIs. His highest one-day score in 14 innings dating back to March last year is 45 and his last-half century was three years ago at the SVRCG.

Perhaps his only challenger for the spot, Jamaican Carlton Baugh Jr, was named in a 30-man provisional squad for the WT20 but eventually overlooked.

Again, selectors have ignored his services in favour of Ramdin who has already racked up 39 Tests, 76 ODIs and 22 T20Is.

West Indies will play two T20s, five ODIs and three Tests against the South Africans in the tour that runs until June 30.

They will contest the two T20s tomorrow and Thursday, respectively, before playing the first two ODIs on Saturday and next Tuesday.

SQUAD - Chris Gayle (captain), Dwayne Bravo, Sulieman Benn, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Andre Fletcher, Nikita Miller, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Jerome Taylor.

Gayle ... still in charge. - file

Face Book Fan Page>>

View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum


Chat Room
Create free forum | © PunBB | Free forum support | Contact | Report an abuse | Free forum